Make your gaming spirit soar
PlatformOVERALL
PC10.00
Overall 10.00






Posted by Yodariquo Mon, 10 Sep 2012 11:00:21
next >>
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 06:30:18
So even after they broke it you award a 10?

I guess for the value for time, along with your freshness to the genre, it must be a hell of a game.

What other games have you given 10's to in the past?

And you got cut off in the last video.

EDIT: Also, for those of you who have not commented yet, you can play all four videos at once to save time.
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 06:32:22
Holy shit, Yoda is a closet Vader!
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 06:56:40
^ What does that even mean?
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 07:03:33
I'm sure you can work it out...


...

...

he's secretly awesome?
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 07:09:33
I would be more critical if it was something along the lines of the game coming out, and a bunch of things not working, it being buggy, and so on.

What's happened recently is a patch introduced a couple--to the casual player--minor bugs, and then performance issues for some players which have slowly, but not completely, been addressed.  There were a lot of bad things about the 1.5 patch, plus philosophical decisions I disagree with, but not without a few benefits, and not something worth adjusting score for because it's also something that will be improved on going forward.

Other games to receive a 10 are
- Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
- Perfect Dark
- Meteos
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 07:09:44
I know it has to do with the review score but I haven't given out a 10 in 4 years.
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 11:05:17
I can see that. It raises the question as to when is it critically best for a game to be buggy?

Obsidian and Bethesda games ship broken but are usually fine after 4-6 months, so if you are a late adopter you never notice.

Or do you ship a superlative game and then tinker with it?

I'd prefer the former. It's certainly appreciated that a company provide ongoing content and improvements, but if I liked the game it was, then I'd feel I had lost something.

Also, review would have been better if you changed your accent and appearance in each segment, without acknowledging any change.

I would have started Canadian, then bad-german, offensive-japanese, bad-russian and then broken-spanish.
 
Wed, 12 Sep 2012 12:15:52
StarCraft II is a game that is by necessity tinkered with.  As professional players get more and more familiar with the game, it becomes more clear that on occasion balance adjustments need to be made.  Maps are also adjusted for both balance and to avoid stagnation.

This was recorded on Twitch.tv, and uploaded to Youtube through the feature there.  So alas, this was one-shot and not actually 4 segments.  A missed opportunity for sure.
 
Sat, 15 Sep 2012 05:30:19
I just noticed, by comparison, that of the 31 games I've beaten this year I've awarded seven 10's.
 
Sat, 15 Sep 2012 18:56:58
Well look who's doling out the critic points?  How do you decide a game is a 10/10 for you?  Normally with me, I basically have a 10 by default, then take points off for issues I have in the predefined areas of the game I use with my normal review method.  No issues enough to deduct from any section and you have a 10.

Something I'll mention about the score here, initially I was just going to talk about the game in a general sense, and it's part of why this isn't structured so much as a review would.  But in the course of doing this, I found that there's just so much to cover, and almost nothing to count against it.  So while I'm not using my standard review methods, I found I couldn't reasonably mark it down from a max score.

Effectively, the single player is excellent, and yet an almost insignificant part of my experience with the game.
next >>
Log in or Register for free to comment
Recently Spotted:
*crickets*
Login @ The VG Press
Username:
Password:
Remember me?